A Conversation with Rehab El-Bakry

Rehab El-Bakry

I found it to be a great pleasure to hear Rehab El-Bakry speak today in our Theory and Audience Analysis class.  There were a lot of points that I took away from her conversation with us, but one thing in particular that I remember was what she said about blogging.  Basically, she told us that you might as well be honest when you blog, if not don’t blog at all.  It’s a very small point amidst all of the informative information that she shared with us, but one that I really believe is a good point. Since I have started blogging consistently (a little over three months ago), I have heard many of my classmates (from time-to-time myself included) gripe about all of the blogging we have to do and I believe we have just been going through the motions and not really getting the full benefits of blogging.  I’d like to be fully engaged in my blogs from here on out (not that I didn’t try to do well, but I think my previous blogs really lacked me being fully engaged in them, so I am going to attempt to put my whole-self into my blogs more.). But, I don’t want to take this time to really go into all of that; it was just a point that I wanted to briefly speak about.

Now back to the conversation El-Bakry (and her blog). I found her topics to be very engaging, not just the topics she talked about in class but from her blog as well.  I really like her post from September 14, 2011, entitled, “In Loving Memory of My Friend Sherif Turki”. In this blog El-Bakry takes a very personal turn, taking a moment to honor the friend that she has recently lost due to a heart attack.  I like it when people give you a brief glimpse into their world. Nothing overly personal where you feel you should not be listening to or reading about what they’re discussing; just a small peek to let you know that they experience the same things that you experience. I was very touched by this written memorial to Sherif Turki.

It really saddened me to hear about how the Christians in Egypt are still being persecuted and recently executed. How can a government really think that killing innocent people (because they want a safer place to worship) is justifiable? How can the journalist really call themselves journalists knowing that they have incited people to go out and harm others? It will never cease to amaze me just how trusting people are of the media; just because it’s on the news it must be true?  Sadly, we as Americans have fallen victim to the sort of hype.  Maybe my eyes have been opened because I used to work in the media field and I know all too well how the top story or breaking news can be skewed any way the television station wants it to go. After all, if it bleeds it leads.

Leave a Reply

